Soldier to Soldier Hawaii

Property Tax Exemptions in Hawaii

Hawaii Property Tax Exemptions: A Detailed Guide

Hawaii, with its pristine beaches and vibrant culture, has long been a sought-after real estate market. But, just like every homeowner in the U.S., Hawaiians have to consider property taxes when purchasing or owning a home. Luckily, the Aloha State offers several property tax exemptions to ease the financial burden. Here’s a breakdown of the key exemptions you should be aware of, complete with helpful links for deeper dives.

1. Homeowner Exemption:

If Hawaii is your primary residence, you’re in luck! You can avail of the homeowner exemption which can significantly reduce the assessed value of your property and, in turn, your taxes.

  • Amount: The exact amount of the exemption varies from county to county.
  • Eligibility: The property must be your primary residence.

Learn more about the Homeowner Exemption.

2. Age-based Exemptions:

Hawaii offers additional exemptions based on the age of the homeowner.

  • 60 to 69 years: Increased exemption value.
  • 70 years and older: Even higher exemption value.

Check the detailed Age-Based Exemptions.

3. Disabled Veteran Exemption:

Veterans who are disabled as a result of their service are eligible for a full exemption from property tax in Hawaii.

  • Eligibility: The veteran must have a total disability due to injuries or service-connected causes.

Dive into the Disabled Veteran Exemption details.

4. Agricultural Dedication:

If a portion of your land in Hawaii is used for agricultural purposes, you could qualify for a reduced property tax rate.

  • Eligibility: Your property must be dedicated to agricultural use, and certain productivity requirements might apply.

Explore the ins and outs of the Agricultural Dedication.

5. Historic Property Dedication:

Hawaii values its rich history. If you own a historic property, you could receive a significant tax deduction by preserving the property’s historic nature.

  • Eligibility: The property must be registered as a historic property and must adhere to preservation guidelines.

Read more on Historic Property Dedication.

6. Blind, Deaf, and Disabled Exemption:

Residents of Hawaii who are blind, deaf, or totally disabled can qualify for additional exemptions.

  • Eligibility: Proof of disability is typically required.

Discover more about Blind, Deaf, and Disabled Exemption.


Hawaii’s property tax exemptions offer multiple avenues for homeowners to receive tax relief. If you own property in Hawaii or are considering purchasing one, familiarize yourself with these exemptions to optimize your tax savings. Always consult with a local tax advisor to ensure you meet the specific requirements and deadlines.

Celester Thomas

Company Blog – Soldier to Soldier Hawaii Realty

Apply for a loan